china domain name register scam
A client of mine recently received the following email. He owns domainname.com, and the email says that someone else is interested in all the other TLDs of domainname. My client represents a national brand in the US, and was understandably concerned.
Here is the text of the email:
Dear Manager,
We are China Net Technology Limited, which is the domain name register center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.
we have received an application formally,one company named "LEALUI Holdings Limited" applies for the domain names( domainname.netdomainname.orgdomainname.bizdomainname.info
domainname.cn domainname.ccdomainname.hkdomainname.mobi etc.) and the internet Brand Name(domainname)on the internet Nov 2, 2007. We need to know the opinion of your company, because the domain names and keywords may relate to the usufruct of brand name on internet.
we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely.
Best Regards,
Angor Huang
Sponsoring Registrar:
China Net Technology Limited.
Tel:+(852)3177 1510
Fax:+(852)3177 1520
Email: angor.huang@china-net.hk
Website: www.china-net.hk
This is a known scam. They will probably try to sell him registrations to these other TLDs.
Ignore.
Categories:
New Articles: